Awards from APH

The Wings of Freedom Award is the highest honor presented by APH. Natalie Barraga was the recipient of this award in 2008.

The American Printing House for the Blind presents five major awards to deserving persons who make outstanding contributions to the field of blindness:

Wings of Freedom Award

APH was thrilled to present our highest honor, the Wings of Freedom Award, to Lou Tutt, Executive Director of the Association for the Education and Rehabilitation of the Blind and Visually Impaired. He is pictured here (center) with APH's Bob Brasher (left) and Tuck Tinsley. (Click to enlarge.)

The Wings of Freedom Award is the highest honor presented by the American Printing House for the Blind. The award is not annual, but is given periodically, only as deserved. The Wings Award was established to recognize and honor individuals who have demonstrated exemplary leadership in the areas of education or rehabilitation of persons who are blind and visually impaired.

Recipients of the Wings of Freedom Award

2014 Wings of Freedom Award Video

Introduction of 2014 Recipient Lou Tutt by Dr. Tuck Tinsley, and response.

Virgil Zickel Award

Peter Balyta, Director of Worldwide Marketing for Texas Instruments, accepts the Virgil Zickel Award from APH President Tuck Tinsley. TI received the award in recognition of their work in developing the revolutionary Orion TI-84 Plus Talking Graphing Calculator.

APH's Tuck Tinsley presents additional Zickel Awards. The Lavelle Fund, represented by Andy Fisher, and Ellen Trief, consultant, received the Zickel for their work on Standardized Tactile Augmentative Communication Symbols Kit (STACS). The Zickel was also presented to Millie Smith, consultant, for developing SAM: Symbols and Meaning.

Portrait of Virgil ZickelAPH's Virgil Zickel Award recognizes those creative and caring individuals whose ideas result in the development of innovative products designed to improve the quality of life for people who are blind and visually impaired.

Virgil Zickel was a dedicated employee of the American Printing House for the Blind for 27 years during the 1950s, '60s, and '70s. In his role as Plant Manager, he was crucial to the development and production of countless products. We are proud to bestow the Zickel Award in honor of this outstanding man whose talents were responsible for bettering the lives of countless visually impaired students and adults.

Recipients of the Zickel Award

Creative Use of Braille Award

Paula Mauro (OH) and Mike Hudson, APH, presented APH's Creative Use of Braille Award to the Ohio State School for the Blind Marching Band, represented by Cynthia Johnson and Carol Agler. The OSSB Marching Band performs “Braille Script ‘OHIO’” with The Ohio State University Marching Band.

The Creative Use of Braille Award is given in recognition of a product, idea, method, or promotional effort that increases the availability or awareness of braille. It is not given annually but only when an idea, service, or program rises to an important level.

Recipients of the Creative Use of Braille Award

Exemplary Advocate Award

In 2011, Tuck Tinsley (left) and Bob Brasher (right) presented the APH Exemplary Advocate Award to Rosanne Silbermann of Hunter College.

APH presents the Exemplary Advocate Award to uniquely deserving partners.

Recipients of the Exemplary Advocate Award

Extra Mile Award

APH's Ken Perry and Jeanette Wicker celebrate the success of the Orion TI-84 Plus Talking Graphing Calculator with Susan Osterhaus (TX), Peter Balyta of Texas Instruments, and Venkatesh Chari of Orbit Research. Osterhaus and Chari received APH's Extra Mile Award for their work in developing the calculator.

APH's Extra Mile Award was created to recognize the exceptional efforts of APH partners.

Recipients of the Extra Mile Award

Visit Our House!