APH News & Press

Annual meeting of Ex Officio Trustees of American Printing House for the Blind to be held at Brown Hotel, Fourth and Broadway, October 10-13, 2002

News Release: Louisville, Kentucky, September 18, 2002

Nearly 300 Ex Offico Trustees* and "Special Guests*" of the American Printing House for the Blind (APH), Louisville, Kentucky, will attend this year's annual meeting. The theme of the meeting will be "Sharing the Memory, Shaping the Dream." APH is the site for a new national Hall of Fame** for Leaders and Legends of the Blindness Field. It is scheduled to open next year, but the first group of inductees will be honored at this meeting. Ten of the thirty-two inductees will be present at this meeting.

In addition to numerous meetings and lectures, the conference will feature displays open to the public from 8:00 AM until 5:00 PM, Friday Oct. 11, and from 8:00 AM until 2:00 PM, Sat. Oct. 12 in the Brown Hotel's Bluegrass Room.


National in scope, the Hall of Fame will honor significant professional colleagues of the recent and distant past. They are heroes and pioneers who not only shaped our rich history, philosophy, knowledge, and skills, but also give us insights into current and future challenges. These giants shared their personal lives and showed us strategies to ensure that services for blind persons remain unique and specialized.

The first 32 leaders to be honored were selected by members of the advisory committee which included Burt Boyer (CA), Dr. Joan Chase (FL), Dr. Phil Hatlen (TX), Dr. Cay Holbrook (B.C.), Dr. Michael Nelipovich (WI), Dr. Susan Spungin (NY), and Dr. Dean Tuttle (CO). Committee member Naomi Tuttle (CO) was unable to be present for the announcement. APH staff members serving on the committee include Dr. Tuck Tinsley, Mary Nelle McLennan, Gary Mudd, Donald J. Keefe, Janie Humphries, Will Evans, and Bob Brasher.

The Hall is expected to draw support from the entire field. It will be located in a portion of the 1922 wing of the APH building that is also being renovated to house the Barr Research Library. The leadership of the Council for Exceptional Children-Division on Visual Impairments, Association for the Education and Rehabilitation of the Blind and Visually Impaired, and the American Foundation for the Blind are among those who have lent their support thus far.


In 1879, the U. S. Congress passed the Act to Promote the Education of the Blind. This act set up a system to provide free schoolbooks and other materials for blind students and named the American Printing House for the Blind as the national central source of these educational materials. The system through which these specialized materials are distributed is known as the Federal Quota Program. American Printing House for the Blind Ex Officio Trustees are responsible for overseeing the implementation of this program in the various states and regions they represent. The Ex Officio Trustees come to Louisville each year for the Annual Meeting during which they provide insight and exchange information about developments in the field of blindness. "Special guests" such as parents, teachers, and administrators and other educators involved with the field of blindness may also attend this meeting.

Contact Roberta Williams, Public Affairs and Special Projects Manager, for more information. Telephone: 1 -800-223-1839 or (502) 895-2405; e-mail: rwilliams@aph.org

Visit Our House!