Skip to main menu Skip to main content

Text reads "Congratulations 2022 APH Scholars" and the numbers of 2022 are made of branded colored images from the field including products and a guide dog. ​Congratulations to the 2022 APH Scholars

Since 2003, Ex Officio Trustees (EOT’s) throughout the United States are asked to nominate someone whom they feel provides outstanding service in their region. Through a scholarship, awardees are sent to Annual Meeting in Louisville as a guest of APH. APH pays for all expenses in attending the conference including transportation to the meeting, conference registration, and hotel accommodations. We want to thank the APH scholars for their contributions to the field and during the next few newsletters you will learn about each of them.


A little more about the process.

Members of the APH Educational Services Advisory Committee (ESAC) are challenged with the task of selecting nominations for attendance at the APH Annual Meeting. Many of our Scholars have gone on to become EOTs, be recognized by their peers as outstanding teachers, and receive other awards and accolades.

Beginning in 2020, APH has worked with each scholar to provide a webinar for professional development or contribute to the APH Hive learning management system. These trainings highlight the APH products used in the scholar’s professional life, how they used them, or include ‘out of the box’ creativity. During Annual Meeting the Scholars participate in a panel discussion about their service to individuals who are blind or have a visual impairment. Scholars also participate in the building of the EPAC and ESAC committee reports, with commendations and recommendations provided for APH during their Spring meeting.

Congratulations to:

Megan Macy, teacher of the visually impaired, nominated by Tanya Armstrong, EOT of the Nebraska State Department of Education.

Lanna Slaby, region 6 coordinator, nominated by Emily Stenberg Brown, EOT of the North Dakota School for the Blind and the North Dakota Department of Education.

Stacey Chambers, teacher of students with visual impairments, nominated by Emily Coleman, EOT of the Texas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired.


Share this article.

Related articles

2022 Inductees to the Hall of Fame Announced

The Hall of Fame is dedicated to preserving the tradition of excellence manifested by specific individuals through the history of...

The Changing History of APH’s Annual Meeting

Photo shows the audience for the 1993 Keynote Address, held in the Brown Hotel in Louisville, KY.   Maybe you...

APH Behind the Scenes: Learning All About Annual Meeting

For 152 years, APH has hosted Annual Meeting, gathering Ex Officio Trustees (EOTs), Teachers of the Visually Impaired (TVIs), other...