Visit Our House!

"Celebrating 150 Years of Independence"

Celebrating 150 Years of Building Indepence

The 140th Annual Meeting of Ex Officio Trustees and Special Guests
American Printing House for the Blind, Inc.
October 2-4, 2008
Seelbach Hotel, Louisville, Kentucky

Pictures from the 2008 Annual Meeting

Thurs Oct 2, 2008:

The ad hoc Ex Officio Trustee Nominations Committee, (l-r) Carol McCarroll (TN), Stuart Wittenstein (CA), Bernadette Kappen, Chair, (NY), met to select a slate of members for EPAC and ESAC.

APH President Tuck Tinsley (seated) and Perkins School for the Blind President Steven Rothstein discuss the new Perkins/APH Brailler prior to the surprise reveal during Annual Meeting.

Chase Crispin was one of the APH 150th Anniversary Essay Contest winners. Chase has produced his own series of YouTube tutorial videos explaining APH’s Braille+ Mobile Manager. Here he poses with APH President Tuck Tinsley.

A first place Essay Contest winner was Josh Pearson (center), posing here with his father Brian Pearson (left), and APH’s Tuck Tinsley.

In all, eight essay contest winners from around the U.S. attending the APH 150th Anniversary banquet. Front row from left: Carla Hayes, Chase Crispin, Alex Follo, Mohamedhadi Somji, Deborah Kendrick. Back row from left: Doreen Bohm, Josh Pearson, Ibraheem Shahadat.

495 guests from across the U.S. and Canada attended the APH 150th Anniversary banquet at the historic Seelbach Hilton hotel in Louisville.

Mike May (right), President of the Sendero Group, gave an inspirational keynote speech after the dinner. Here he talks to attendees after the presentation.

Ex Officio Trustees John Paris-Salb and Stuart Wittenstein (CA), facilitated the historic opening session.

Fri Oct 3, 2008:

Attendees at the new Ex Officio Trustee meeting included: Front row, from left: Patrick Clancy (IA), Marie Celeste (DC), Susan Egging (WY), Cathy Nadberazny (PA), Dorinda Rife (AZ). Back row, from left: Melanie Austin (UT), John Paris-Salb (CA), Judy Ortman (NJ), Jim Olson (CO), Vince McVeigh (PA).

Each year APH helps a group of professionals who have never attended Annual Meeting with an attendance scholarship. The 2008 scholars were, from left: Annette Newbold, Patricia Cox, Pauline Smith, Suzan Patillo, Amy Downard.

Ex Officio Trustee Advisory Committee chairs Jackie Denk (KS), EPAC and Tom Winton (NC), ESAC reported on the commendations and recommendations from their committees.

Special guest Annette Reichman from the U.S. Department of Education offered welcoming comments to participants and congratulations to APH.

Trustee Suzanne Dalton (FL) gets into the historical spirit. Dalton, along with Trustee James Olson (CO) facilitated the first General Session.

APH’s highest honor, the Wings of Freedom Award, was presented to Natalie Barraga, who accepted via video.

Steven Rothstein of the Perkins School and APH’s Tuck Tinsley surprised attendees with the announcement of the new Perkins/APH Brailler.

APH’s April Hedges and Michael Sell (seated) solicit product ideas from attendees.

"Twins" and Trustees Marjorie Kaiser (SD) and Carmen Grove Suminski (ND) facilitated the second General Session.

APH’s Nikki Gaines explains the NIMAC project to attendees at the Information Fair.

APH’s Fred Otto goes over tactile graphics with attendees during his poster session.

Award-winning InSights artist Miracle Barnett came to Annual Meeting with her family to receive her award in person.

Ex Officio Trustee Jim Durst (IN) poses with award-winning artist Ashley McWhirter and her mother Carolyn McWhirter.

Artist Marc Vargas poses with his award-winning painting.

Richard Welsh, 2008 inductee into the Hall of Fame for Leaders and Legends of the Blindness Field, poses with his plaque.

Susan Spungin poses with a Hall of Fame Wall of Tribute stone presented to her by her colleagues, friends, and family.

Phil Hatlen (TX) accepted the Hall of Fame inductee plaque on behalf of the late Sally Mangold.

APH’s Bob Brasher was presented with a special Wall of Tribute stone recognizing his extraordinary contributions to the Hall of Fame project.

APH InSights Artist William Carr poses with his artwork.

Sat Oct 4, 2008:

Laura Matz of the Perkins School for the Blind presented a workshop on the exciting new Perkins/APH Brailler.

Derrick Smith of the University of Alabama explains the MathBuilders materials during a training session.

LaRhea Sanford, APH Consultant, presented on the product Functional Vision and Learning Media Assessment (FVLMA).

Sandy Lewis of Florida State University, APH Consultant, described PATTER: Preschool Attainment Through Typical Everyday Routines.

APH’s Jeanette Wicker, and Mary McCarthy, Justine Carlone Rines, and Roz Rowley of Perkins helped attendees learn about the Wilson Reading System.

Trustees Jerry Kitzhoffer (PA) and Frank Simpson (NY) facilitated the Closing Session with humor and a homemade ouija board.

APH’s Gary Mudd and Tuck Tinsley presented a summary of APH’s 150th anniversary year celebration activities.

Janie Blome and Bob Brasher closed the 140th Annual Meeting with special remarks, including comments regarding Janie’s great-great-great-grandfather, James Guthrie, who served as APH’s first President of the Board of Trustees (1858-1869).