Visit Our House!

APH Annual Meeting 2010 Photo Album

Memories from the 142nd Annual Meeting of Ex Officio Trustees and Special Guests, American Printing House for the Blind, Louisville, Kentucky.

Thursday, October 14, 2010

The ad hoc Nominations Committee, (l-r) Jim Downs (GA), Mike Bina, Chair (MD) and Angyln Young (AR) met to select a slate of candidates for service on EPAC and ESAC.

President Tuck Tinsley introduces granddaughter Zoe to the audience during his Migel Medal acceptance remarks.

Christopher Migel (left) and Carl Augusto (right) presented Tuck Tinsley with American Foundation for the Blind Migel Medal, the highest honor in the field of blindness.

Jim Gibbons, President and CEO, Goodwill Industries International, presented the opening keynote address “Crossroads to Opportunity,” for the 142nd Annual Meeting.

Each general session of the APH Annual Meeting of Ex Officio Trustees was facilitated by a Trustee. Ex Officio Trustee Karen Ross (MA) facilitator for the Opening Session poses with Tuck Tinsley.

Martin Monson (MD) and Trustee Samuel Ace (AZ) visit during the opening reception.

Florida’s Kay Ratzlaff gets a friendly hug.

Bill Jacobson (AR) and Rod Kossick (CA) share orientation and mobility stories.

APH’s John Zinninger provided musical entertainment for the reception.

Jeanie Brasher (KY) chats with Darick Wright (MA).

Project Leader Burt Boyer talks with Trustee Leslie Durst (IN).

Trustees Carmen Grove Suminski (ND) and Mike Bina (MD) share a moment with Ken Kalina (AZ) and Jane Erin (AZ).

Trustee Angyln Young (AR) and Bill Jacobson (AR) enjoy the reception.

Ex Officio Trustee Jerry Kitzhoffer (PA) shares a laugh with Brian Hurley of National Industries for the Blind.

APH Scholar Cath Tendler-Valencia (CA) and Robert Eutz (IN) get acquainted.

Jim Adams (NE) listens as Pat Leader (CA) makes a point.

Rob Hair (MA) has a laugh with new EOT Lee Speer (SC).

Robert Eutz (IN) chats with Father Sadoni Leon from Haiti.

Friday, October 15, 2010

Trustees Linda Lyle (NM) and Sally Giittinger (NE) show off their “Girl Power” as they facilitate the first general session.

ESAC Chair Frank Simpson (NY) joined EPAC Chair Nancy Niebrugge (CA) to share highlights of the Advisory Committee reports.

Project Leaders Loana Mason and Eleanor Pester present with Cay Holbrook (BC, Canada) in a product input session.

APH’s technology group participated in a product input session with consultant Mike Cole from California (2nd from left).

Kay Ferrell (CO) discusses a new assessment product from APH.

LaRhea Sanford (TN) shares her experiences with training for the FV/LMA.

Jim Adams (NE), Jim Deremeik (MD) and others listen intently during a product input session.

Ellen Trief (NY) presents the results of a tangible symbols research project to a packed house.

Trustee Jean Small (ME) offers her input.

Silvana Sung and Judith Lesner accepted the Creative Use of Braille award on behalf of the Lucky Touch Fortune Cookie, a student business venture of the California School for the Blind.

Drs. Rebecca Burnett and LaRhea Sanford (TN) were the recipients of the Virgil Zickel award for the Functional Vision/Learning Media Assessment.

Six direct service providers attended Annual Meeting for the first time after being chosen as APH Scholars. Scholars and their nominating Trustees are (l-r): Sally Giittinger and Scholar Mary Farris (NE), Karen Duffy and Scholar LeAnna McDonald (NE), Stephanie Bissonette and Scholar Liese Reagan (VT), Scholar Kay Workman (MO), Cheryl Misialek and Scholar Cindy Williams (ND), and Scholar Cath Tendler-Valencia (CA).

Presenters at the second general session included Trustee Joe Catavero (NY) and APH’s Bob Brasher.

Annette Reichman, Director/Liaison, Office of Special Institutions, U.S. Department of Education, visits with Elaine Kitchel during the information fair.

Trustee Joe Catavero enjoys the poster sessions with Bernadette Kappen (NY) and Jackie Brennan (PA).

Fun is on the menu at Tuck’s Diner with the Accessible Textbooks staff!

“Time for Tea” by Michael Delehanty Jr. from Whitehall Elementary School Whitehall, PA won Honorable Mention for Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Grades.

“Alone in the Hospital” by Tara Innmon from Minneapolis, MN won First Place for 2-Dimensional Art.

“Once Darkness” by Chappelle Letman from Cleveland, OH won First Place for Sculpture.

“Bountiful Tow” by Michael Williams from Memphis, TN won Second Place for 2-Dimensional Art.

“The Demon Hydra” by Kevin Frayser from Indiana School for the Blind & Visually Impaired, Indianapolis, IN, won Third Place for Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Grades.

“Carousel Animal” by Brooke Lehrer from Electa Quinney Elementary Kaukauna, WI won Honorable Mention for Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Grades.

Brooke Lehrer and family.

Amelia Lillie with her family.

“Singing in the Rain” by Kaytlyn Floyd from Oglethorpe County Primary School, Lexington, GA won Second Place for Preschool/Kindergarten, pictured here with her mother Mae Floyd.

Gaetono Williams and mother. Won third Place in the Preschool/ Kindergarten category. Attends Watkins Glen Central School in Watkins Glen, New York.

“My Pets” by Amelia Lillie from Brown School, Louisville, KY, won First Place for Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Grades.

Sixteen new Ex Officio Trustees attended an Orientation Breakfast during Annual Meeting. Front row (l-r): Melanie Hennessy (IL), Lee Speer (SC), Dorothe Mumford (DE), Norma Villanueva (District of Columbia), Marie Piquion-Leach(NC), Cheryl Manuel (KS), Kristen Oien (MN), and Mathis Calvin (NY). Back row (l-r): Bob Disher (OR), Nancy Armstrong (VA), Brent Pitt (TX), Cynthia “Pepper” Watson (OK), Hollie Murdock (UT), Samuel Ace (AZ), Bobby Simpson (LA), Gary Cusick (KY)

Carl Augusto and Christopher Migel accepted the Hall of Fame plaque for inductee M.C. Migel.

Dr. James Kutsch accepted the Hall of Fame plaque for inductee Morris Frank.

Jane Erin, secretary of the Governing Board for the Hall of Fame, poses with Christopher Migel, Carl Augusto, and James Kutsch.

Horton Frank poses with the bas-relief plaque bearing the likeness of his great uncle, Morris Frank.

Jane Erin, Christopher Migel, Carl Augusto, and Jim Deremeik, chair of the Hall of Fame governing board.

Hall of Fame Board members Jane Erin and Jim Deremeik.

Mary Nelle McLennan was surprised by her many friends and family with a special engraved Wall of Tribute stone that appears in, and supports, the Hall of Fame.

Saturday, October 16, 2010

Ralph Bartley facilitated Saturday morning’s first general session, facilitated by new Trustee Bobby Simpson (LA).

Chris Roman-Lantzy, CVI Project Leader, shares information on a new product for students with cortical visual impairment.

Trustee Cynthia “Pepper” Watson examines materials from Building on Patterns.

Cay Holbrook explains the uses of Building on Patterns during a product training session.

Donna Wittenstein (CA) and Cath Tendler-Valencia (CA) compare their product training notes.

South Carolina Trustees Marty McKenzie and Lee Speer take in the technology product training session.

Audience members listen in the closing session.

Applause greeted the winners of Saturday morning’s door prizes.

Janie Blome, Marty McKenzie (SC) and Bob Brasher presented at the closing session.