Visit Our House!

APH Annual Meeting 2014 Photo Album

Memories from the 146th Annual Meeting of Ex Officio Trustees and Special Guests, October 16–18, 2014, Louisville, Kentucky

See also Annual Meeting 2014 Audio & Video.

Jump to pictures from:

Thursday, October 16

Annual Meeting attendees learn about the APH manufacturing process during tours on Thursday.

Ex Officio Trustee Rosa Gomez (CA) checks out the bas-relief plaques of inductees in the Hall of Fame for Leaders and Legends of the Blindness Field.

Orientation guru Sandy Rosen (CA) shares information about Step-by-Step and other products during the Teacher Talks on Thursday afternoon.

Ex Officio Trustee Joe Catavero (NY) chaired the ad hoc Nominations Committee and met with fellow Ex Officio Trustees Charlotte Lowry (AL) and Jonn Paris-Salb (CA) to prepare a slate of nominees for the Ex Officio Trustee Advisory Committees.

Marianne Riggio and Aubrey Webson, both with Perkins, prepare to board the Spirit of Peoria sternwheeler steamboat for the Thursday night Annual Meeting Opening Session.

APH Printery Head E.E. Bramlette (aka Museum Director Mike Hudson) shared some of APH’s 1925 accomplishments in a rousing speech aboard the Spirit of Peoria.

It was a beautiful night for a steamboat race against the Belle of Louisville!

Friday, October 17

APH was excited to welcome new EOTs to the New EOT Orientation Breakfast. Back row, left to right: Kim Esco-Collins (MS), Geoff Barney (MO), Christine Hinton (NJ), David Feinhals (NJ), Donna Sorensen (MT), Chris Short (IA). Front row, left to right: Tony Woodell (AR), Paula Penrod (KY), Sharon Sacks (CA), Carrie Brasier (MA).

APH was pleased to welcome 3rd District Congressman John Yarmuth (left) to the Annual Meeting, shown here with APH President Tuck Tinsley.

Joshua Miele, Director of the Description Research and Innovation Lab at the Smith-Kettlewell Rehabilitation Center, offered a “message from the engine room” in his keynote address that highlighted his many innovative projects in accessibility and technology.

Li Zhou, Core Curriculum Project Leader at APH, along with APH staff members Ken Perry and Jeanette Wicker, seeks input from the audience about core curriculum products currently in development.

Audience members were eager to learn about accessible assessments from Jane Erin, Professor Emeritus at the University of Arizona.

Randy Davis, Braille Specialist at the Georgia Tech Alternative Media Access Center, shared his experiences, hopes, and dreams for the future in a moving presentation on Friday. He expressed his appreciation to mentor Marie Amerson (GA) in his presentation.

APH was thrilled to present our highest honor, the Wings of Freedom Award, to Lou Tutt, Executive Director of the Association for the Education and Rehabilitation of the Blind and Visually Impaired. He is pictured here (center) with APH’s Bob Brasher (left) and Tuck Tinsley.

Left to Right: Christine Hinton (NJ) was the Ex Officio Facilitator for the session featuring reports from Ex Officio Advisory Committee Chairs Jim Olson (CO) and Paula Mauro (OH).

Once again this year, APH welcomed first-time attendees to Annual Meeting as APH Scholars. The Scholars are nominated by their local Ex Officio Trustee, and chosen for participation by the Educational Services Advisory Committee (ESAC). Back row, left to right: EOT Jonn Paris-Salb (CA), EOT Tony Woodell (AR), Ex Officio Trustee Todd Reeves (PA), EX Officio Trustee Bobby Simpson (LA), Ex Officio Trustee Lori Foley (ND). Front row, left to right: Scholar Yue-Ting Siu (CA), Scholar Rachel Buchannan (AR), Scholar Deborah Fenton (PA), Scholar Terry Lamaire (NH), Ex Officio Trustee Mary Lane (NH), Scholar Blanche Faulk (LA), Scholar Linda Kraft (ND).

Mike Hudson, APH, invited attendees at the Information Fair to play a rousing game of trivia in honor of the 20th anniversary of the APH Museum.

Linda Turner, APH, guided guests at the Information Fair along the “Tributaries of LOUIS,” giving an overview of the Louis Database of Accessible Materials.

A poster “like no otter” provided information about the Boehm-3 Preschool assessment! Left to right: Carolyn Zierer (APH), Cathy Smyth (CO), Ann Boehm (NY), Laura Zierer (APH).

Kaylena Cramp (MA) was among a group of award winning artists from Perkins who created a tactile quilt, with a haiku for each quilt panel. Kaylena is pictured with Perkins Education Director Rob Hair and teacher Rocky Tomascoff.

Tuck Tinsley poses with winning APH InSights artist Cassandra Proud (OH) during the “Meet the Artists” event.

Lou Tutt (VA) has fun interacting with APH InSights art winner Kaitlyn Davidson (CO) and her family.

Stuart Wittenstein (CA), and Linda Collins (MA), display the bas-relief plaques created to remember the remarkable life and contributions of the 2014 inductees into the Hall of Fame for Leaders and Legends in the Blindness Field: Newel Perry and Michael Collins.

Hall of Fame Curator Bob Brasher provided opening remarks during the induction ceremony and Jane Erin, Chair of the Hall of Fame Governing Board, acted as master of ceremonies for the event.

Saturday, October 18

Agency representatives from across the field of blindness gave us a quick overview about important aspects of their work in the "Speed Up-dating" session. Presenting were: Carl Augusto (NY), Nancy Niebrugge (CA), Mary Nelle McLennan (APH), Lou Tutt (VA), Jim Downs (GA) and Olaya Landa-Valard (IL).

Chris Roman-Lantzy with APH introduces the new APH CVI product Match Sticks to attendees in her product training session.

Members of APH’s Braille Readers Theater troupe performed a scene for their most recent production, The Curious Savage during the closing session.

APH staff members Bob Brasher, Janie Blome, and Jane Thompson shared the stage with Ex Officio Trustee Doug Anzlovar (IL), who facilitated the closing session.