Visit Our House!

APH Annual Meeting 2015 Photo Album

Memories from the 147th Annual Meeting of Ex Officio Trustees and Special Guests, October 8–10, 2015, Louisville, Kentucky

Jump to pictures from:

Thursday, October 8

Roberta Williams, APH, describes operations in the APH braille production area to Annual Meeting attendees during a special APH facility tour.

Ex Officio Trustee Paula Mauro, (OH – center) chaired the ad hoc Nominations Committee and met with fellow Ex Officio Trustees Linda Lyle (NM – left) and Sally Giittinger, (NE – right) to prepare a slate of nominees for the Ex Officio Trustee Advisory Committees.

Throughout Annual Meeting, Ex Officio Trustees and APH staff facilitated the general sessions. Burt Boyer, APH retired, and Jim Durst (IN) got the meeting off to a great start by facilitating the Opening Session.

Keynote speaker Dr. Chuck Wall (right) encouraged us all to practice acts of kindness in everyday life. Here he is pictured talking to APH’s award-winning narrator Lou Harpenau (left) in the APH Studios.

APH was thrilled to present our highest honor, the Wings of Freedom Award, to Carl Augusto, President, American Foundation for the Blind. He is pictured here with APH’s President Tuck Tinsley.

Jim Deremeik (left), Hall of Fame Board, and Craig Meador (right), APH Vice President, present APH President Tuck Tinsley with a Hall of Fame Wall of Tribute stone to thank him for his support of the Hall and service to the field.

Friday, October 9

APH welcomed new Ex Officio Trustees with the New EOT Orientation Breakfast. We were very excited to have so many of our new EOTs participating in Annual Meeting 2015.

During the first general session, APH’s Kate Herndon (center) reported on our shared journey with Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, along with Linda Andries (left) and Deval Clearwater (right) of HMH.

Li Zhou, Core Curriculum Project Leader at APH, seeks input from the audience about core curriculum products currently in development.

Nancy Lacewell, APH, poses with John Romeo, Full Circle Braille. Romeo shared his experiences, hopes, and dreams for the future in a moving presentation on Friday.

Once again this year, APH welcomed several first-time attendees to Annual Meeting as APH Scholars. The Scholars are nominated by their local Ex Officio Trustee, and chosen for participation by the Educational Services Advisory Committee (ESAC). Pictured here are the Scholars with their sponsoring Trustees.

Research Assistant Kelly Mimms explains a poster about on an upcoming product, Explorer Bright Ray. Annual Meeting featured twenty posters on a wide variety of APH products and services.

Winning APH InSights artist Amelia Lillie (KY) poses with her mother Sharon Lillie. Amelia was a winner in the 7th, 8th, and 9th Grade category and was able to attend the Annual Meeting banquet to accept her award in person.

Artist Wanda Owens (OH) poses with her first-place winning sculpture. She is being greeting by APH’s Tuck Tinsley.

Current Hall of Fame Curator Janie Blome, former Curator Bob Brasher, and former Hall Governing Board Chair Jane Erin pose on the exciting occasion of celebrating two new inductees to the Hall.

The extraordinary Sir Frances Campbell (1832–1914) was inducted into the Hall of Fame for Leaders and Legends of the Blindness Field. Here Campbell’s decedents are pictured with his bas-relief plaque. Mary Nelle McLennan (APH, center) did much of the research on Campbell’s contributions to the field.

Well-respected Alan Koenig (1954–2005) was inducted into the Hall for his wide influence on the field of blindness. Here his family members are pictured accepting his plaque. Koenig’s friend and colleague Cay Holbrook (BC) is pictured in the center.

Saturday, October 10

Agency representatives from across the field of blindness gave us a quick overview about important aspects of their work in the “Speed Up-dating” session. Presenting were: (back row) Lou Tutt, AER; Nancy Niebrugge, Braille Institute; Todd Reeves, COSB; Carl Augusto, AFB. Front row: Olaya Landa-Valard, CEC; Mary Nelle McLennan, BANA.

“Props and Stage Directions” was the theme for a Product Training Session on Building on Patterns UEB, featuring Cay Holbrook (BC, seated) and Cathy Senft-Graves (APH, standing).

Gary Mudd and Nancy Lacewell of the APH Public Affairs Department presented a closing segment on “Working Together to Advocate for the Act to Promote the Education of the Blind of 1879.”