Visit Our House!

The Assessments — Common Core State Standards

Return to APH CCSS Home page

In 2010 and 2011, the U.S. Department of Education awarded a total of five grants to the Consortia of states to support the development of new assessment systems — two Comprehensive Assessment Consortia, two Alternate Assessment Consortia, and one English Assessment Consortium. In November 2012, a second grant was awarded to fund the development of English Language Proficiency assessments. Information will be posted about the new consortium as it becomes available.

Comprehensive Assessment Consortia

Partnership of Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers — PARCC

The Partnership for Assessment of Readiness for College and Careers (PARCC) is a consortium of states working together to develop a common set of K-12 assessments in English and math anchored in what it takes to be ready for college and careers.

Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium — SBAC

The Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (Smarter Balanced) is a state-led consortium working to develop next-generation assessments that accurately measure student progress toward college- and career-readiness.

Alternate Assessment Consortia

Dynamic Learning Maps — DLM

In 2010, the Dynamic Learning Maps Alternate Assessment System Consortium (DLM) was awarded a grant by the U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP). Through the grant, DLM will develop an alternate assessment aligned to the new CCSS.

National Center and State Collaborative

The National Center and State Collaborative (NCSC) is a project led by five centers to build an alternate assessment based on alternate achievement standards (AA-AAS) for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities.

English Proficiency Consortium — ASSETS

In the fall of 2011, the U.S. Department of Education awarded an Enhanced Assessment Grant of $10,486,195 to the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, in collaboration with the World-Class Instructional Design and Assessment (WIDA) Consortium, for the development of next-generation assessments of English proficiency. The new system is called Assessment Services Supporting ELs through Technology Systems (ASSETS).