Skip to main menu Skip to main content

text reads "congratulations 2020 APH Scholars" and the numbers of 2020 are made of branded colored images from the field including products and a guide dog Congratulations to the ​2020 APH Scholars

Since 2003, Ex Officio Trustees (EOT’s) throughout the United States are asked to nominate someone whom they feel provides outstanding service in their region. Members of the APH Educational Services Advisory Committee (ESAC) select five of the nominations for attendance at the APH Annual Meeting. Through a scholarship, awardees are sent to Annual Meeting in Louisville as a guest of APH. APH pays for all expenses in attending the conference including transportation to the meeting, conference registration, and hotel accommodations.

While this year will look different, we want to thank the APH Scholars for their contributions to the field. Many of our scholars have gone on to become EOTs, be recognized by their peers as outstanding teachers, and receive other awards and accolades.

During Annual Meeting, the scholars will be asked to participate in a panel discussion about their service to individuals who are blind or have a visual impairment. Scholars will also participate in the building of the EPAC and ESAC committee reports, with commendations and recommendations provided for APH during their spring meeting.

APH understands that the scholars’ expertise and insight is very valuable to the field. For this reason, beginning in 2020, APH will work with each scholar to provide a webinar for professional development. These webinars will highlight the APH products used in the scholar’s professional life, how they used them, and include ‘out of the box’ creativity.

Congratulations to:

Colin Montoya, inventory manager, nominated by Jared Leslie, EOT of the Arizona State Department of Education.

Nabiha Mujahid, VI regional support specialist, nominated by Robin King, EOT of the Louisiana Department of Education.

Barb Peterson, Montana School for the Deaf and the Blind outreach consultant, nominated by Carol Clayton-Bye, (former) EOT of the West Virginia State Department of Education.

Vivian Ramsey, teacher for the visually impaired, nominated by Elizabeth Pieters, EOT of the Iowa Department of Education.

Karen Reno, certified orientation and mobility specialist, nominated by Kay Ratzlaff, EOT of the Florida Department of Education.



Share this article.

Related articles

2022 Inductees to the Hall of Fame Announced

The Hall of Fame is dedicated to preserving the tradition of excellence manifested by specific individuals through the history of...

​Congratulations to the 2022 APH Scholars

Since 2003, Ex Officio Trustees (EOT’s) throughout the United States are asked to nominate someone whom they feel provides outstanding...

The Changing History of APH’s Annual Meeting

Photo shows the audience for the 1993 Keynote Address, held in the Brown Hotel in Louisville, KY.   Maybe you...