Skip to main content Skip to main menu

Awards from APH.

The American Printing House for the Blind presents six major awards to deserving persons who make outstanding contributions to the field of blindness.

Wings of Freedom Award glass statue on wood base with print and braille label
  • The Wings of Freedom Award is the highest honor presented by the American Printing House for the Blind. The award is not annual, but is given periodically, only as deserved. The Wings Award was established to recognize and honor individuals who have demonstrated exemplary leadership in the areas of education or rehabilitation of persons who are blind and visually impaired.

    Recipients of the Wings of Freedom Award:

    • Michael J. Bina, 2018
    • Cay Holbrook, 2017
    • Carl R. Augusto, 2015
    • Louis M. Tutt, 2014
    • Ralph Brewer, 2011
  • APH’s Virgil Zickel Award recognizes those creative and caring individuals whose ideas result in the development of innovative products designed to improve the quality of life for people who are blind and visually impaired.

    Virgil Zickel was a dedicated employee of the American Printing House for the Blind for 27 years during the 1950s, ’60s, and ’70s. In his role as Plant Manager, he was crucial to the development and production of countless products. We are proud to bestow the Zickel Award in honor of this outstanding man whose talents were responsible for bettering the lives of countless visually impaired students and adults.

    Recipients of the Zickel Award:

    • Philippe Claudet, Les Doigts Qui Revent (LDQR), 2018
    • Ann Boehm and Kay Ferrell, Boehm-3 Test of Basic Concepts, 2016
    • Patricia Maffei and The Hatlen Center, Quick and Easy ECC: The Hatlen Center Guide, 2016
    • Texas Instruments, Orion TI-84 Plus Talking Graphing Calculator, 2013
    • The Lavelle Fund and Ellen Trief, Standardized Tactile Augmentative Communication Symbols Kit (STACS), 2013
  • The Creative Use of Braille Award is given in recognition of a product, idea, method, or promotional effort that increases the availability or awareness of braille. It is not given annually but only when an idea, service, or program rises to an important level.

    Recipients of the Creative Use of Braille Award:

    • John Romeo, From Beyond the Walls, 2016
    • Ohio State School for the Blind Marching Band, 2013
    • Lucky Touch Fortune Cookie Company, California School for the Blind, 2010
    • Braille Institute of America for the National Braille Challenge, 2006
    • Sally S. Mangold, 2003
  • The Building Independence Award was established by APH to recognize the collaborative efforts and partnerships needed to ensure that students with vision loss have access to the unique educational tools and materials they need to reach their full potential and become independent, productive citizens.

    The award was created using artwork by Kaytlyn Floyd of Waynesboro, PA, an award-winning APH InSights artist in the Grades 1-3 category. Her artwork, “My Cane as My Friend,” shows Kaytlyn holding a white cane. When developing this award, APH staff felt that the white cane is a symbol of independence that everyone, everywhere can appreciate.

    Recipients of the Building Independence Award:

    • Senator Mitch McConnell, 2015
    • Representative John Yarmuth, 2015
  • APH presents the Exemplary Advocate Award to uniquely deserving partners.

    Recipients of the Exemplary Advocate Award:

    • Rosanne Silberman, 2011
    • Jackie Denk, 2010
    • Barbara Perkis, 2009
    • Rod Brawley, 2002
  • APH’s Extra Mile Award was created to recognize the exceptional efforts of APH partners.

    Recipients of the Extra Mile Award:

    • Susan Osterhouse and Venkatesh Chari for the Orion TI-84
    • Plus Talking Graphing Calculator, 2013
    • Authors of Building on Patterns, 2012