Skip to main content Skip to main menu

Congratulations to the 2023 APH Scholars

Text reads "congratulations 2023 APH Scholars" and the numbers of 2023 are made of branded colored images from the field including products, conferences, and a guide dog.

Since 2003, Ex Officio Trustees (EOTs) throughout the United States are asked to nominate someone whom they feel provides outstanding service in their region. Through a scholarship, awardees are sent to Annual Meeting in Louisville as a guest of APH. APH pays for all expenses in attending the conference including transportation to the meeting, conference registration, and hotel accommodations. We want to thank the APH scholars for their contributions to the field, and during the next few newsletters, you will learn about each of them.


A Little More About the Process

Members of the APH Trustee Advisory Committee (TAC) are challenged with the task of selecting nominations for attendance at the APH Annual Meeting. Many of our Scholars have gone on to become EOTs, be recognized by their peers as outstanding teachers, and receive other awards and accolades.

Beginning in 2020, APH has worked with each scholar to provide a webinar for professional development or contribute to the APH Hive learning management system. These trainings highlight the APH products used in the scholar’s professional life, how they used them, or include ‘out of the box’ creativity. During Annual Meeting, the Scholars participate in a panel discussion about their service to individuals who are blind or have low vision. Scholars also participate in the building of the TAC committee reports, with commendations and recommendations provided for APH during their spring meeting.


Congratulations to:

Jennifer Bliss, State-wide STEM Consultant, nominated by Elizabeth Pieters, EOT of the Iowa Educational Services for the Blind and Visually Impaired

Suzie Mahon, Teacher of the Visually Impaired, nominated by Leslie Bechtel Vanorman, EOT of the Wyoming State Department of Education

Jeanne Neu, Teacher of the Visually Impaired, nominated by Stephanie Bissonette, EOT of the Vermont Association for the Blind and Visually Impaired

Share this article.